Narooma High School swim news

ON Wednesday, February 5 the Narooma High School swimming carnival was held at Narooma Indoor Olympic pool. Attendance was by competitors from Years 8-12, year 9/10 pass and 11/12 SLR students as officials, and all of year 7, who especially enjoyed the novelty events. Competition was intense in most age divisions but no records were broken this year.

Fine efforts were achieved by the age champions for 2014 that were:

     Girls Boys

12 years        Rory Spurgeon

13 years   Cecilia Colom-Davis   Connor Breust

14 years   Brooke Allison  Tommy Driscoll

15 years   Crystal Czubara Teig Wilton

16 years   Ashley Walpole  Clifford Taylor

17+ years  Maddie Czubara  Carter

The age champions along with other members of the swimming team contested the zone swimming carnival at Narooma on Wednesday, February 19. The house spirit was exceptional at this year’s carnival with many students wearing appropriately coloured outfits to support their house. Final 2014 house point scores are as follows:

1st  Wagonga:   367 points

2nd  Corunna:   336 points

3rd  Dromedary: 180 points

4th  Montague:  132 points

Acknowledgment should also go to the following teachers for their assistance in running this year’s swimming carnival: Mr Café, Mrs Café, Ms Schroder, Mr Kenna, Mr van Weerdenburg, Mrs Swadling, Mrs Walpole, Mr Mazzuchelli, Mrs Klose, Mrs Clothier, Mrs McMillan and Mrs Thomas, as well as the students from the year 9/10 PASS and year 11/12 SLR programs, who assisted with the time keeping.

Well done to all on a great day and we look forward to a bigger and better event next year.

Zone Swimming Carnival 2014

ON Wednesday February 19 the Eurobodalla zone swimming carnival was held at Narooma pool with swimmers competing from across the south east from nine different high schools.

Swimmers who finished first, second or third in events qualified for the South Coast regional swimming championships in Dapto on Thursday, March 6.

They are Cecilia Colum-Davis, Megan Rutherford, Rory Spurgeon, James Hurley, Connor Breust, Kaleb Moritz, Ben Nitsche, Brooke Allison, Clifford Taylor, Tommy Driscoll, Teig Wilton, Matthew Swadling, Max Carter, Carl McEvoy, Maddie Czubara and Ashley Walpole.

Also qualifying were the relay teams of boys 17+ years, 14 years and 13years and girls open medley, 14years, as well as, a six member all-age boys team.

Good luck to all at the next level and congratulations on reaching this high standard of performance.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide