Narooma Golf Club report | May 11-14

Thursday, May 11

A field of 124 players enjoyed good weather and golfing conditions and the DSR emerged at 72/71. In A Grade Robert Sayers had the best score of the day, 42 points off his handicap of 8 , one point ahead of Steve Marsden and three ahead of Chris Brown.

The scores in B Grade were a little more pedestrian where Tony Cobcroft came out on top with 37 points off a handicap of 14, followed by David Alexander and Anton Galloway who headed Terry O'Callaghan and Mike Shevlin on countback on 36 points.

Jim Hoar was a clear winner in C Grade with 41 points off his handicap of 25. Preston Cope finished in second position with 38 points and new member Andrew Voormeulen in third place with 37 points , ahead of Stewart Murray, Lionel Field and Peter Elliott on countback.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Hal Fraser on 3, Bob Bennett on 9, Bill Durnan on 14 and Phil Haynes on 17, while Andrew Thompson took out the eagle's nest when he holed his second shot on the tenth . The ball competition went down to all on 34 points.

Saturday, May 13

The second day of the Club Championships saw a field of 117 play to a DSR of 72/73. In A Grade Doug Morey had the best net score of 73 off his handicap of 11, one shot better than Jason Andrew and Scot Ker.

In B Grade Frank Jakubowski had a day to remember with a net 64 off his handicap of 18 to win by six shots from Graham Kerr on 70 , followed by Graeme Donohoe on 71. In C Grade Marea Clarke had a net 69 off her handicap of 26 to defeat Brian Brown on countback, while Lyle Healey took the third place ,also on countback from Gary  Leahy and Frank Clarke.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Geoff Lanham on 3, John Breust on 9, Mitch Jeffery on 14 and Bob Knipler on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on net 77.

At the conclusion of play the winners in all grades of the Championships were declared. Club Champion and winner of A Grade is Jason Andrew with 150, one shot better than previous champion Jordan Lang. Net winner is Bill Hannam on 148, with runner-up John Breust on 150.

The B Grade winner is Hayden Lang with 167, which also wins him the junior title, with runner-up Ken Brown on 173. Net winner is Frank Jakubowski with 137, which also wins the Professional's Trophy as the lowest net aggregate score over the two rounds, and runner-up Ron Manly on 147.

C Grade was won by Kevin Mitchell with182 gross , five shots ahead of Grahame Cooke. Net winner is Brian Brown with 142 , with Gary Leahy runner-up on 148.

Sunday, May 14

The rain-deferred Walter Norris Mixed Fourball was played in overcast conditions and the winners were Rod and Pam Shepherd with 46 points.

Alan and Ris Cheale came second with 44 points while the only nearest-the-pin won was on the 17th by Clive Williamson. The ball competition went down to 40 points.  RGI


Discuss "Narooma Golf Club report | May 11-14"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.