Narooma and Bermagui combined golf reports

Narooma Men’s Golf

Thursday, July 13

 A very good field of 131 enjoyed excellent golfing conditions to a consistent DSR of 73.  A four-way countback on 35 points decided A Grade with Graham Kerr off a handicap of 12 prevailing from Peter Ward and Graeme Sawyer and the unlucky Laurie Holmes.

In B Grade Ken Adams  off a handicap of 15 had the best score of the day with 40 points, two ahead of Rory Kleeman  and three ahead of Jim Grant. C Grade was taken out by Don Waterfield with 39 points off a handicap of 29, followed by Andrew Vormeulen with 38 points and John Hasler with 37 points. The nearest-the-pin winners were Rory Kleeman on 3, Norm Watson on 9, Matt Reid from Moruya on 14 and Richard Easton on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on 32 points.

Saturday, July 15

A field of 116 players took to the course for the third round of the Annual Par Competition where the DSR emerges as a consistent 71. In A Grade Greg Riley continued his good form with plus 3 off his handicap of 11 to head another player in good form, Graeme Sawyer, on countback. Matt Corbett showed that class never diminishes with plus 1 to head Jim Grant and Bill Durnan for third place  on countback. In B Grade Tracey Mitchell from Royal Canberra came out on top on countback with plus 2 off a handicap of 14 ahead of Ron Manly while Jayne Hotchkis from Murrumbidgee took third place  with plus 1. C Grade saw by far the best score of the day when John Hasler off a handicap of 27 recorded a score of plus 7, six shots ahead of Tony Hunt and Terry Pickles. The nearest-the-pin winners were Bill Durnan on 3, Robert Mettam on 9, Brendan Warby on 14 and Wayne Houston on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on minus 2.

Sunday, July 16

A good medley field of 38 played in the annual Terry Gibbons Trophy and the lady members took the first five places. Dorelle Monteith had an excellent round to record 43 points, ahead of Lorraine McCarthy on 38 points and Jan Boxsell on 37 points to head Lorraine Gibbons and Margaret Spong  on countback. David Hayward had the nearest shot on hole 3 and Jan Boxsell on hole 9, while the ball competition went to all on 32 points. The draw for the Captain's Trophy has been published and first round matches must be played by August 27. The leading qualifier, Jackson Taylor, will play Laurie Holmes and the second qualifier, Brett Thompson, will play Bill Swan. – RGI

Bermagui Men’s Golf

Thursday, July 13

70 players teed off in a Par competition (3rd round of the mid-year Eclectic) from the white markers. Robert Scott (hcp 10) from Heyfield, took top spot in A Grade, with a score of plus 2. Robert Finch (hcp 15) took runner up from Roy Matthews (hcp 14) on a counback, both finishing square with card. B Grade winner was Arnold Watson (hcp 19) finishing with plus 2, just one ahead of runner up Paul Rumble's son Tim (hcp 17) visiting from Cootamundra. David Cole (hcp 19) took third with minus 1. C Grade winner, Max Luland (hcp 36) finished at plus 1. Mick Smith (hcp 25) took second with minus 1, and  Ian Reid (hcp 29) in third, at minus 2. NTP's 6th Garry Patterson, 8th Jeffrey Lobley, 11th Bob Paine and 15th Michael Derbyshire.

Saturday, July 15

A solid field of 70 players enjoyed yet another challenging but perfect winter's day on the course, competing in Stableford competition from the blue tees. A Grade winner was Derek Quinto (hcp 12) with 36 points on a countback from Jay Goodwin (hcp 5). Michael Carr (hcp 12) placed third, just one point back. Peter Buttrey (hcp 18) won B Grade again this week with 37 points, and Arnold Watson (hcp 19) again  took runner-up, on a countback from Greg Maloney (hcp 18) visiting from Fairbairn, both scoring 33 points. Returning after a brief absence, Tom Boyd (hcp 23) took first place in C Grade from Ian Reid (hcp 30) on a countback, with 35 points. Guy Lingard (hcp 24) took third with 33 points. NTP's 6th Leigh Quinn, 8th Jay Goodwin, 11th Jim Stanton and 15th Col Stubbs.

Club News

  •  Thursday 20th July will be a Stableford event, and fourth round of the mid-year eclectic
  •  Saturday 22nd July will be a Par event.

Narooma Women’s Golf

Monday, July 10 was a Stableford round and the winner of Division 1 with 39 points was M. Robinson. Our Division 2 winner was V. Spooner with 40 points. The Nearest the Pin winners were, on the 9th hole for Division 1 - J. Wuttke-Hayes, on the 14th hole for Division 2 - M. Robinson and on the 17th hole for Division 3 - R. Cheale & P. Shepherd (a dead heat).

Wednesday was the Grandmothers & Bridget Jones Trophy Stableford competition. The Grandmother's Trophy was won by M. Robinson with 40 points on a count back and the Bridget Jones Trophy was won by S. Donohoe with 33 points. The daily winner for Division 1 was M. Robinson with 40 points with T. Wilson runner up on 38 points. Division 2 winner was M. Brooks with 40 points and runner up with 38 points was J. Healey. Nearest the Pin winners were on the 3rd hole for Division 3 - P. Shepherd, on 14th hole for Division 1 - K. Lawrence and on the 17th hole for Division 2 - M. Young.

Bermagui Women’s Golf

Winners of the split sixes were Vicki Hummel, Jo Mills, Fiona Hanks and Annette Irvine with 99 points. Our event on Wednesday was sponsored by Kaz from our beauty salon called Salon Paradis. Many many thanks to Kaz. Runners up Michele Medelis, Pat Jones, Wilma Scarpin and Audrey Cook. Balls to Lynn Ponsford, Elsbeth Cripps, Fran Vercoe and Lesley Ashton. NTP 8th Pat Jones. 11th Fiona Hanks. 15th Jo Mills.


Discuss "Narooma and Bermagui combined golf reports"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.