District Golf Results

Narooma Golf Club

A satisfactory field of 120 players enjoyed fine dry conditions with a lot of run to a consistent DSR of 72. A Grade was won by Mark Anderson with 39 points off a handicap of 10, three ahead of Barry Pateman while Brett Thompson headed Bill Durnan and Jim Grant on countback with 34 points to fill third position. In B Grade Frank Jakubowski scored 40 points off a handicap of 16, followed by six players on 37 points, with Matthew George and Frank McGlade from Medway in Melbourne filling the minor positions ahead of Brian Mills, Bill Anderson, Mike Shevlin and Bill Baker. In C Grade John Murray triumphed at last with 40 points off a handicap of 33, one ahead of Jim Young while Robert Brown headed Don Caldwell, Jim Jones and Greg Ryan on countback with 37 points. The nearest-the-pin winners were Warick Minett on 3, Bob Knipler on 9, Bill Baker on 14 and Bill Durnan on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on 33 points.


A good Saturday field of 129  players encountered fine weather again with a consistent DSR of 72. In A Grade Geoff Lanham had a fine round to register 41 points off his handicap of 10, one ahead of Mitch Jeffery and two ahead of Richard Goodridge who headed Peter Ward on countback. In B Grade Tim Short had the best round of the day with 44 points off his handicap of 17, followed by Robert Ackling on 40 and Jan Shevlin on 37 points. In C Grade Christine Hendra shared domestic bragging rights with 41 points off her handicap of 40,  one ahead of Janice Eardley and three ahead of Peter Bashford. The nearest-the-pin winners were Geoff Lanham on 3, Richard Easton on 9, Robert Ackling on 14 and Alan Butterworth on 17, while the ball competition went down to 32 points with 17 home.

Narooma Ladies

Monday 4th September was a Stableford competition. The winner of Division 1 was J. Hotchkis with 39 points and runner up was C. Fader with 38 points on a count back. Division 2 winner was P. Shepherd with 42 points and runner up was M. Young with 37 points. Nearest the Pin on the 3rd hole for Division 2 was D. Landells and on the 9th hole for Division 3 was M. Spong. Division 1 on the 17th hole was J. Hotchkis. Balls to 33 points.

Wednesday 6th September was our Monthly Medal and the Medal winner this month with 66 was K. Lawrence. The Drive, Pitch & Putt was won by S. Donohoe and the putting competition was won by M. Hunt with 26 putts.  Winner in Division 1 was K. Lawrence with 66 and runner up was K. Roberts with 69. Winner of Division 2 M. Hunt with 68 and runner up J. Eardley with 71 on a count back. Nearest the Pin on the 3rd hole for Division 1 was C. Fader, on the 9th L. Gibbons for Division 2 and on the 14th hole for Division 3 was V. Spooner. Balls to 75 on a count back.

Bermagui Country Club

Results for Thursday 7 th September 2017. 63 players enjoyed a Stableford event. The A grade winner was Paul Revill (hcp 15) with the best score of the day 40 points. The runner up was Willow Lalao (hcp 15) on 36. Then came Jay Goodwin (hcp 4) on 34. In B grade the win went to Allen Sherlock (hcp 20) with 36 points. Then came Shane Roberts (hcp 17) on 36 and Dave Cole (hcp 19) on 35. Michael Blair (hcp 32) showed good form to win C grade with 37 then we had Bruce Blair (hcp 27) on 36 and Len Murphy (hcp 22) on 35. NTP’s 6 th Rick Reid, 8 th Ray Cullen, 11 th Mick Carr & 15 th Barry Bowling.

Results for Saturday 9th September 2017. 36 players teed off in a Stableford competition. The A grade winner today was Noel Haase (hcp 13) with 35 points. Runner up was Mick Carr (hcp 13) on 33. Allen Sherlock (hcp 21) continued his good form to win B grade with 39 points. Next was Dave Cole (hcp 20) scoring 34. Michael Derbyshire (hcp 22) came home with 38 points to win C grade just shading Greg Cummins (hcp 24) on 37. NTP’s 6th Geoff Coulon, 8th Allen Sherlock, 11th Guy Lingard and 15th Ted Munckton.

Club News: The entry forms are available for the Bermagui Week of Golf which includes the Men’s and Ladies Open events. The fun starts with the Ladies Open on the weekend of 16th 17th September and concludes with the Men’s Open 23rd 24th September. There are competitions with prizes, and fun in the clubhouse every day of the week. Details available at the pro shop or on the Bermagui Country Club website.

On Saturday 16th September the Bermagui Men will play 4BBB at Bega to contest the annual Bega v Bermagui Shield. For competition bookings or lessons, please phone Chris Hearn at our Pro Shop on 6493 4657.

Tuross Head Men

The Tuross Head Country Club men's golf Scoty stableford competition held on Saturday resulted in an easy win for Paul Israel with an excellent score of 42 points. He was followed by John Phyland with 37 points ahead of Allen Gannon with 35  and Gerald Strickland and Ross Hendy who both handed in cards of 34 points. Nearest the pin winners were: A grade golfer Jason Nilolic was best on the 4th with 3.00m and Mark Haberkorn won the 6th with 3.24m. B grade player Paul Scholze was closest on the 4th hole with 0.275m and Paul also won the 7th with 2.27m. C grade player John Eglitis was awarded the 4th hole with a very close 12.7cm and the day's event winner, Paul Israel was best on the 6th with 4.80m. Mike Allen won the 7th with 8.19m.

Thursday's 18-hole stableford medley competition was won by Chris Wratten with 39 points ahead of David Schmid 38, Rex Wood 36 and Colin Houghton 33 points. Nearest the pins were won by Peter Nikolic on the 4th hole with 7.13m. Colin Houghton won the 6th with 3.85m and Colin was also best on the 7th with 3.27m

Tuross Head Ladies

On Tuesday the ladies at Tuross held their annual  charity day to raise money for Moruya Hospital. The game was a four person mixed ambrose event with 62 starters. The winner’s were the team of  Andrew Gordon, Al Gannon, Chris Wratten & Col Houghton with a great score of 56.25 net. Second place went to Frank Pomfret, Kevin Dukes, Paul Periera & Neil Watson with a 59 net. In third place it was Greg Smith, Steve Johnston, Bruce Martin & Dorothy Madden with a 59.38 net.  Nearest the pin on the fourth Col Houghton. Sixth Ian Wark.  The Accuracy drive went to Gayle MacAlpine (ladies)  Glen Shearer (men). The ladies were happy to announce that they raised  $2400 for the hospital. Thanks to all who participated on the day and made it such a success. Next week will be the gold medal play off.

Tuross Head Veterans

Wednesday’s game was a Canadian Foursomes event with 46 starters.  The winner’s were Neil Watson & Errol Soden with a 34.37 net. Second place went to Dorothy Madden & Bruce Martin with a 37.12 net. In third place it was Ross Hendy & Noel Fletcher with a 37.57 net. The Bradmans was won by Anna Heuston & Solveig Olsson and the Accuracy drive went to Chris Wratten. Ball or chocolate went to Paul Periera & Kevin Dukes 38 net. Annette & Ian Manton, Ken Brown & Chris Wratten 38.125 net. Tony Crook & Graham Pratt 38.87 net. Richard Kelly & Greg Thornton, Ann & Bruce Ware 39 net. Nearest the pins, fourth – Dorothy Madden. Sixth – Len Rogers. Seventh – Annette Manton & Len Rogers.  Next week will be a stroke & putt event.


Discuss "District Golf Results"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.