Golf results

Narooma Golf Club

THURSDAY 9th NOVEMBER: An excellent field of 154 players enjoyed a rapidly improving course, thanks to the favorable weather conditions, and the DSR emerged at a consistent 71. In A Grade Steve Mealing from Townsville registered a dream round of two over par off his handicap of 11 to record 45 points, followed by George Christou on 42 points and Robert Sayers on 39 points. Colin O'Sullivan finished on top in B Grade with 40 points off his handicap of 15, with Perry Pericleous heading Frank Jakubowski with 39 points on countback. Countbacks decided all placings in C Grade with four players on 40 points. Robert Hudson finished on top, followed by Lyle Healey and Alby Donnelly with Stephen Paul missing out. The nearest-the-pin winners were Laurie Holmes on 3, Peter Ward on 9, Mark Elmasri on 14 and Matthew George on 17, while the ball competition went to 34 points.

Narooma Ladies

Monday 6 November's Stableford event was cancelled due to much welcomed rain. Wednesday 8 November was the first round of the Ladies' Christmas Hamper and was a stroke event.  The Division 1 winner was Silvia Donohoe on a count back from visitor Stephanie Winning with a net 75.  The Division 2 winner was Julie Whyte also with a net 75.  The nearest to pin winner for Division 2 was Marion Brooks on the 17th; Division 3 winner was Maureen Caswell on the 3rd and no one made the green in Division 1 on the 14th.

Tuross Head Men

Stephen Swanbury emerged as the winner of the Tuross Head men's golf Scoty stableford competition when he returned a card of 39 points edging out Ian Manton on a countback. Leigh Coloe filled third position with 38 points ahead of Bruce Martin and Ray Bollard who both finished on 36 points. Balls were awarded to 32 points. Leigh Coloe had an eagle on the par 4 second hole to round out a good day on the course. Nearest the pins were won by: A grade golfer Leigh Coloe on the 4th hole with 1.58m. Paul Ferguson on the 6th with 1.10m and Ray Bollard on the 7th with 11.55m. B grade player Reg Apps was best on the 4th with 1.35m and Lance Shadbolt was awarded the 6th hole with 2.75m. Ron Lunt was the closest of the C grade players with 5.86 on the 4th and Paul Pereira won the 6th with 3.43m.

Tuross Head golfers and visitors are reminded that the club’s Open Championships, to be played over 36 holes, will be held on Saturday and Sunday, December 2-3.

Thursday's 18-hole medley stableford was won by Dave Gray with 39 points ahead of Ian Kingston 38, Colin Houghton 37 and Jason Nikolic 35 points. Nearest the pins went to Bruce Martin on the 4th with 1.68m. Colin Houghton on the 6th with 1.56m and Ian Manton was closest on the 7th with 15.5m.

Tuross Head Men: Scoty stableford winner Stephen Swanbury with men's golf president Al Gannon.

Tuross Head Men: Scoty stableford winner Stephen Swanbury with men's golf president Al Gannon.