Bowls results

Lawns bowls results

Dalmeny Men

The rains that had eluded us for such a long time finally arrived on Sunday night and persisted throughout Monday putting a definite end to any bowls. Thursday saw the return of our usual good bowling weather under full sunshine and the usual wind that couldn’t make up its mind which way to blow so situation normal.

For the 32 bowlers, the lowest winning margin decided the winners in Christine Footsen, Nan Maureen and Hook-ara Wort from the runners-up in John Verr-heaven, Bluey Ralph and gospeller Bob. Nan Maureen took out the first resting toucher but the jackpot wasn’t won so the wrong bias sinners included Nan Maureen, Christine, scarf-man Jack and visitor from Eastwood Vic., Account Robertson. The raffle prizes went to Graham or Brett, the 2 Margaret organisers, Ponder and Joiner, comic violinist’s son Ken, Mayoress Olwyn, twice, but sent round again for the one and only Dudley. 

Friday Twilight bowls numbers were down to 10 due to many being away for one reason or another and the call of the tradies but those regulars who stayed saw Brawling Frank and Footman Dave as our winners and with no resting toucher being recorded the “Bodalla Hippy Sticks” award was won by Steal Coles, Graham or Brett and Bruce A1-Ken. Even with the tradies comp we have 5 available rinks to play on so get your names in early by 4.45pm Friday please to help organiser Dipper Ron with the cards and if your name is down and you can’t make it, ring the club, earliest please.

In the final of the “100-up” competition Chris Silver-jones took on Bruce Cover-outs who after a good start leading by 17/13 at the 3rd end then let Chris get ahead to lead by 14 at the 9th end but reduced his lead to only 2 at the 13th and 15th ends before Chris pulled right away from Bruce to take the championship 110/90 at the 20th end. Congratulations Chris on a fine win and well done Bruce in providing some keen opposition to not only Chris but all your competitors along the way to the final.

Narooma Men

Wednesday. 08-11-2017: Another roll-up of 46 bowlers (7 rinks triples & 1 pairs) nominated for the afternoon social bowls. The winners on the day were decided by the team with the highest winning score, & that team consisted of, Ross Thompson, Larry Hardingham & John McNamara, 28 shots & 12 ends won, over Neville Cork, Michael Knight & Ray Gale, 17 shots. Runners-up were, Alan Chisholm, Rod Holman & Peter Jones, with 28 shots also but only 11 winning ends, over, Jeff Isles, Graham Cummins & Tony Palmer 21 shots. The earliest resting toucher of the day prize went to Kelly Hayward achieving the feat at 1405 hrs.

Saturday. 11-11-2017:  A grand total of 20 entrants (5 rinks pairs) for our Jack-Pot Joker afternoon matches, 1st time in a number of weeks we have been able to run the Jack-Pot, mainly because the minimum number of bowlers has not being reached. The winners on the day was the team with the highest margin, & that team was Jon Voytas, & Neville Butt, with 29 shots & a shot margin of 17, over Peter Murton, & Rob McKibbin. Runners-up were Tony Cobcroft & Scott Kennedy, 23 shots, a shot margin of 9, over, Terry Pickles, & Jim Grant 14.  A lucky rink draw was then carried out to see if the winning skip on that rink could cut  the deck of cards & come up with the Joker & claim the $400 Jack-Pot, but was only able to come up with the 2 of spades, so next time there is a minimum 20 bowlers the Jack-Pot will be worth $420 & 1 card less in the deck. 

Narooma Women

Narooma Women: Winners of the Past President Fours, Jenny Coulson, Sue Wales, Gail Palmer and Dawn Kenny (skip).

Narooma Women: Winners of the Past President Fours, Jenny Coulson, Sue Wales, Gail Palmer and Dawn Kenny (skip).

Past Presidents Fours. The remaining matches in the round robin competition were played last Thursday and Friday. When points were tallied up following some very close games, two teams had won three games each. A “shots up” tally revealed that Jenny Coulson, Sue Wales, Gail Palmer and Dawn Kenny (skip) had the highest score after their strong finish. Congratulations to Dawn and her team for some great bowls, winners of the Past Presidents Fours. Runners-up were Vonnie Moody (thanks to Barb McNamara for filling in), Sue Bender, Bev Bowater and Sandra Breust (skip). Presentation night is on December 1, book your tickets at front desk.

Tuross Head Men

Tuross Head Men: Players contesting the five-a-side carnival included Finn Hansen, Alan Betts, Garry Lavis, and Keith Cook of Dalmeny.

Tuross Head Men: Players contesting the five-a-side carnival included Finn Hansen, Alan Betts, Garry Lavis, and Keith Cook of Dalmeny.

The weather cleared on cue for two magnificent spring days for the holding of the Five A Side Carnival.  After a sluggish first day, the team led by Joe Kosanic stormed home with six out of six wins on day 2 to claim first prize.  The team comprised John Fahey, Peter Macdonald, Ivan Balentovic, David Boon along with Kosanic.  It was a victory for a local team – which is a rarity in our carnivals. On the two days they recorded nine wins and ended with 18 points and a margin of plus 42. It was a particularly rewarding effort for Kosanic who has played very little bowls over the past year due to illness and injury.  He started slowly on Day 1 but showed the benefit of match play on Day 2.

Second place getters were a team from Belconnen comprising John Hammond, Greg Megee, Bob Frankcom, Tony Holmes and Alex Horsburg.  They also played well on Day 2 with 4 wins, a draw and one loss finishing with 15 points and a margin of 36 shots. Third place went to the Dalmeny team of Keith Cook, Alan Betts, Garry Lavis, Finn Hansen and Barry Lymbery.  They finished with 15 points and a minus 10 margin.

A couple of close losses cost the Mollymook team of Nick King, Glen Dickson. Tim Flynn, Ron Moore and Nathan Bezant.  They finished in fourth place with 14 points plus 29. The best performing team outside the winners on Day 1 was Anthony Barca and Bob Boyd from Ulladulla who joined Jim Macklan, John Monks and Bruce Lidbury form Tuross. The final award, for best day 2 result, went to the Bodalla side of Shane Coooper, Matt Morton, Jim Marshall, Ray Dunbar and Paul Van der Hevel.

Consistency Singles: The semi finalists in the Consistency Singles have been decided.  John Monks, Peter Macdonald, Jim Macklan and David Boon will vie for the title on the weekend of November 18 and 19. John Monks had a great struggle in his quarter final against Peter Bird. They were neck and neck throughout with Monks just managing to keep his head in front.  After 19 ends they were locked at 95 all before Monks grabbed a crucial break winning the next three ends to give him the advantage. He was able to consolidate the break and ended up winning 150 to 140.

The other three quarter finals were not as close.  Peter Macdonald had some revenge for his loss in the Minor Singles Final with an excellent performance to down Joe Cremona 152 to 118. Julian Penny made David Boon fight for his points in the first half of their clash.  After 13 ends Boon held a slender 67 – 63 lead.  However, Boon then pulled away to take the match 152 to 108. In the final match Lawrie Riley rued the decision to take his bowls out of his car in Braidwood when he had to use a second set of smaller bowls in his clash with Jim Macklan.  He struggled to compete with the unerring accuracy of Macklan with the unfamiliar bowls.  Macklan played too well and won 151 to 79. 


Discuss "Bowls Results"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.