Golf results

Narooma Men

THURSDAY 8th FEBRUARY: A very good post-holiday field of 144 players enjoyed pleasant conditions and a few tricky pin positions for a resultant and consistent DSR of 72.

In A Grade Bill Swan registered the best score of the day with 41 points off his handicap of 14 to head Colin Holmes by two points while Brendan Warby took third place two points further back from David Bennett on countback.

In B Grade countback decided the winner where Rod Holman off a handicap of 22 edged out Russell Naumann on 40 points, with Garry Ebeling filling third place one point further back.

In C Grade Peter Kape continued to appear in the crosshairs of the handicapper with 40 points off his handicap of 32 to win by one point from Brian Naughton from The Grange and two points from Jim Young who left his playing opposition a little impoverished after his fine round.

The nearest-the-pin winners were John Breust on 3, Michael Wuttke-Hayes on 9, Alby Donnelly on 14 and Laurie Holmes on 17, as usual, while the ball competition went down to all on 34 points.

SATURDAY 10th FEBRUARY: A good field of 132 players refuted the traditional concept of the unpopularity of par in the first round of the Annual Par Competition where the scores were very good, the DSR was a consistent 71 and the ball competition went down to minus 1.

A Grade was taken out by Chris Hickman from Federal with plus 4 off his handicap of 8, one better than Rick Porter who headed Geoff Lanham on countback for the second position on plus 3.

In B Grade Gordon Roberts enjoyed his increasing handicap to register the best score of the day with plus 7 off 19. A countback decided the minor placings on plus  5 with Robert Hudson edging out Hal Fraser.

C Grade saw another clear winner in Sid Dean with plus 6 off his handicap of 26 who left three players four points behind vying for the minor placings, with  Lyle Healey  heading John Hasler and Brian Naughton from The Grange missing out.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Ian Hamilton from Royal Canberra on 3, William Comensoli from Federal on 9, Mitch Jeffery on 14 and Dorell Monteith on 17.

Narooma Ladies

On Monday 5th February the ladies played a Stableford competition and the winner of Division 1 was Sylvia Donohoe with 33 points ocb.    Marea Clarke won Division 2 with 33 points.  The NTP winners were Meridie Banson on 3rd Hole for Div 1, Margaret Brown on 9th Hole for Div 2 and Prue Barron for Div 3 on 14th Hole.   Balls to 30 points.

Wednesday 7th February was our Off Season Presentation Party Stableford competition. The Winner of Div 1 with 38 points was Sylvia Donohoe and Runner-up was Chris Fader with 37 points.

The winner of Div 2 was a visitor from Tweed/Coolangatta, Margaret Power with 33 points and Runner up was Pam Shepherd with 31 points.   The NTP Winners were Lorraine McCarthy on 14th Hole for Div 2 and Ris Cheale on 17th Hole for Division 3.   Balls to 30 ocb.

Sylvia Donohoe had an Eagle on the Par 5, 13th Hole.

After Presentation some fun prizes were awarded to players (Golf Tragics) who played during the Off Season and the ladies also enjoyed some delicious cakes and slices made by several committee members.

Bermagui Country Club

Results for Thursday 8th February 2018 - Stableford. Bill McKenzie (hcp 14) came out firing today with 42 points to win A grade. Following a countback Bob Paine (hcp 8) was runner up shading Roy Matthews (hcp 15) both on 36 points.

B grade had the weather dependent Rodney Ashton (hcp 19) take the win with a best score of the day 44 points. Second place in B after countback to el capitan Ray Stephens (hcp 18) shading Bobbie Finch (hcp 16) both on 38.

The C grade winner was Shannon Lamb (hcp 26) with 43 points. Then followed Michael McCann (hcp 23) after countback to Barry Bowling (hcp 22) both on 39.

Results for Saturday 10th February 2018 - Stableford. The A grade winner was Jake Needs (hcp 2) returning home with 35 points. Runner up in A was Derek Nash (hcp 12) with 34 points.

B grade was taken out by Ted Munckton (hcp 16) with 33 points. Second in B to Rob Gammage (hcp 20) with 31 points.

Swabs were called for after Greg Cummins (hcp 22) had success with a win in C grade scoring 38. Runner up was Brendan Matters (hcp 24) on 34 points.

Club News: Our Pennants Teams played the second round on Sunday 11th at Narooma Golf Course. Bermagui Division 1 team defeated Moruya 4 and 1, Bermagui Division 2 team defeated Tuross Heads 3 and 2 and Bermagui Seniors defeated Moruya 4.5 and 0.5. The Pennant rounds continue next Sunday at Moruya Golf Course.

For competition bookings please phone Chris Hearn at our Pro Shop on 6493 4657.

Tuross Head Men

The Scoty monthly stableford  competition is always a welcome and closely competed event. This week saw Ian  Manton return an excellent score of 41 points to win. He was followed by Martin Booth with 37 points with Terry Milliken filling next spot on a countback. Tony Brown and Reginald Apps both returned cards of 36 points. Mitchell McLean scored an eagle on both the par 5 1st hole and then again on the par 4 12th hole. This was the first time since the inception of the course that two eagles had been scored during the same round.

Nearest the pins were won by A grade golfers: Colin Houghton on the 4th hole with 1.05m. Adam Husband on the 6th with 1.75m and Mitch McLean on the 7th hole with 7.32m. B grade player Ian Manton was best on the 4th hole with 7.15m and Wayne Fullerton was closest on the 6th with 0.73m. Terry Milliken was the best of the C grade division with 2.00m on the 4th hole and Graeme Sindel was closest on the 6th with 3.05m.

Thursday's medley stableford competition was won by Glen Shearer with 41 points from Dorothy Maden 39, Stephen Swanbury  and Jim Madden both finished on 36.

Nearest the pins were awarded to Glen Shearer on the 4th with 3.97m and Glen also was closest on the 6th with 2.54m. Leigh Coloe was best on the 7th with 4.87m. Mitch McLean eagled both the first and twelfth holes, which according to club captain Bruce Lidbury, was the first time in the club’s history that a member of Tuross Head Country Club had scored two eagles in the same round.

Mitch, who was well know around the club in his junior golfing years, had only renewed his membership the day before, thereby making him eligible for the prize. He was awarded a dozen golf balls for the eagle on the par 5 hole 1st hole. The "Eagles Nest" prize was then automatically reset and he then scored another eagle on the par 4 12th hole.

Perhaps, partly due to the excellent condition of the Tuross Head course, these two eagles followed another eagle by local golfer Jim Wade, only a few weeks before. Mitch demonstrated great generosity and sportsmanship by immediately donating the major part of his prize to the upcoming Junior Golf Programme which commences Tuesday February 13th.

Bermagui Ladies

On Monday lat week the NSW Champion of Champions was held at the Manly Golf Club.  Bermagui's Maggie Hayes played in this 36-hole event and was the winner of the nett 36 holes and had the best nett score for the afternoon 18 holes too.  She had a 81 nett and a 77 nett.  Well done Maggie.  There was 32 of the best lady golfers in NSW playing. 

On Saturday the ladies played and Denise Flavell had the best score with 38 pts.  Runner up was Lynn Ponsford with 35 pts.  Balls went to Jo Buttrey 34 pts, Brenda Whiffen 33 pts, Maggie Hayes 32 pts and Pat Jones 31 pts.

Wednesday we had 2 divisions for the stableford round.  NTP 6th Val Schilling  11th Sandy Chamberlin.

Div. 1.  Winner  Maggie Hayes 37 pts.  Runner up Michele Medelis 32 pts.  Balls to Cherie Rudneski 32 pts, Fran Vercoe 30 pts, Marion Calder 30 pts and Pat Jones 30 pts.

Div. 2.  Winner  Anna Blacka 38 pts.  Runner up Irene Putaansuu 30 pts.  Balls Bev Tyson 29 pts, Trady Howarth 29 pts, Vicki Hummel 29 pts, and Norma Heddles 29 pts.