Golf results

Narooma Men


A field of 141 players enjoyed favorable conditions where the DSR emerged as 72/71. In A Grade Bill Durnan mounted the victory dais for the second time in succession with 41 points off his handicap of 8 but this time on countback from Andrew Thompson, followed closely by Brendan Warby on 40 points.

B Grade was taken out by Robert Hudson whose ever-decreasing handicap still rewarded him with victory with 41 points off a handicap of 17.  Ross Giblett filled second position with 40 points while Bernie Krueger headed Chris Scott from Howlong with 37 points on countback.

In C Grade Derek Moritz at last came out on top with 38 points off a handicap of 23, while countback decided the minor placings on 35 points with Terry Reid and Jonathan Kay from Commercial Albury enjoying the spoils and Alex Gardner and Bruce Smith from Ringwood missing out.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Colin Pratt on 3, Bill Durnan on 9, Jye Cuneen from Commercial Albury on 14 and Michael Wuttke-Hayes on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on 33 points.


A reduced field of 113 players again enjoyed excellent conditions with the DSR at a consistent 72.

In A Grade Chris Brown returned to winning form with 40 points off his handicap of 9, followed by John Rimmer from 13th Beach on 39 points and Brett Thompson on 38 points. 

In B Grade Matthew George continued to score well with 40 points off his handicap of 16, one better than Peter James and two better than Peter Bashford who headed Paul Mynott from Queanbeyan on countback.

In C Grade Bruce Smith from Ringwood registered the best score of the day with 42 points off his handicap of 23, well clear of Trevor Owens on 36 points and Derek Moritz on 35 points.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Brett Thompson on 3, Mark Falconer on 9, Robert Ackling on 14 and Anne Renehan from Maffra on 17, while the ball competition went down to 32 points with 17 home.

At the recent Far South Coast Championships Narooma's Jordan Lang won the District Championship with a one-under-par score of 71.

He joined with Scott Ker, Bill Hannam and Peter Ward to take out the team scratch title for Narooma with 310.

Narooma Ladies

Monday, March 5, was a Par Competition and the weekend net of Division 1 was Sylvia Donohoe with -1 ocb. The Division 2 Winner was Sofie Ryngaert with -1 ocb.

The NTP winner on 9th Hole for Div 1 was Meridie Banson,  on 14th Hole for Div 2 was Sofie Ryngaert and on 17th Hole for Div 3 was Prue Barron.   

Balls went to -3 ocb.

On Wednesday, March 7, the Ladies played a Stableford Competition.

The winner of Division 1 was Sue Chegwidden with 38 points and runner-up with 36 points was Dorelle Monteith.

The winner of Division 2 with 44 points was Trish James and runner-up was Prue Barron with 38 points.

The NTP Winner on 3rd Hole for Div 3 was Heather McMillan; on 14th Hole for Div 1 was Tracey Mitchell and on 17th Hole for Div 2 was Trish James.   

Balls went to 33 ocb.

Several of our Narooma Ladies travelled to Tathra this week for the Tathra Ladies Open Tournament. 

Sylvia Donohoe is the Tathra Ladies Open Winner for 2018. Julie Whyte won Scratch Runner Up for Division 2.

Bermagui Social Golfers

We started out on a lovely autumn morning to play a Stableford event over 9 holes.

The winner was Shane Grebert from runner-up Andrew Whittaker on count back from Glen Van Dyke.

Fourth on a three-way countback was "Kiwi" Rowe.

NTP on the 6th was Roy Sthruthers and on the 8th was Shane Grebert.

Hacker of the day went to Trevor Grebert.

Back at the Bermagui Hotel where we had a beautiful lunch supplied by the publican we held our presentations and raffles.

The badge draw was won by Graeme Gunn and lucky player draw went to Charlie Bennett.

The meat tray went to Bernie Geerdink and the veggie tray, bottle of wine and pizza voucher were won by patrons of the Palm Bar Restaurant.

The last bottle of wine was won by Roy Sthruthers.

Thanks again to our sponsors the Bermagui Beach Hotel, Bermagui Pizza, Triple 7, and Needs Butchery.

Golfers of any standard are welcome each Sunday at the Bermagui Golf Course starting at 09:00.

Tuross Head Country Club

Tuross Head Country Club men's golfers enjoyed a single stableford competition, played in ideal conditions on a well manicured course last Saturday.

Steve O'Shea emerged as the winner with a score of 39 points ahead of Bruce Lidbury who carded 38 points.

Mark Haberkorn with 37 points edged out Ron Rogers on a countback.

Ken Brown filled the remaining top position with 36 points.

Nearest the pins were won by A grade golfer Colin Houghton on the 4th hole with 1.94m.

Colin was also closest on the 7th with 6.38m.

Adam Husband was best on the 6th hole with a very close 42 centimetres.

B grade player Reg Apps was awarded the 4th hole with 7.64m and Ian Miller the 6th with 3.65m.

C grade golfer Bruce Brawn was closest on the 4th hole with 2.74m and Herb Muriwai won the 7th with 5.08m.

The coming Saturday competition is a par event.

Bermagui Country Club

Results for Thursday 8th March - Stableford

A countback placed Derek Quinto (hcp 15) into the A grade winning position shading Willow Lalao (hcp 13) both on 37 points. Then followed Rob Beuzeville (hcp 12) on 35.

The B grade win went to Ray Stephens (hcp 17) with 38 points. Runner-up was Rod Walters (hcp 17) with 35 and third was Jarra McKay-Collins (hcp 16) on 33 points.

Peter Daykin (hcp 30) won C grade with a best score of the day 40 points. Doug Blair (hcp 25) ran second with 39 and third went to Arnold Watson (hcp 22) on 37 points.

Results for Saturday 10th March - Stableford

Willow Lalao (hcp 13) put in yet another good performance for the win in A grade with 36 points. Runner up after countback was Paul Revill (hcp 13) then followed Warwick Moore (hcp 7) both on 35.

The B grade win went to Rocky Lagana (hcp 17) with 34 points. Runner up after countback was Shane Roberts (hcp 17) shading Jim Manton (hcp 16) both on 33 points.

Winston Fowler (hcp 23) had a good day out with a best score 41 point C grade win. A countback placed Michael Derbyshire (hcp 23) in second spot shading our C grade champion Arthur Worthley (hcp 24) both on 37 points.

An Eagle was landed on the Par 5 second hole today by Jake Needs.

Club News

Thursday 15th March will be a Saint Patrick’s day fun team event of Irish Split Sixes so dress accordingly.

The Pennants semi-finals will be on Sunday 18th.

For competition bookings or lessons please phone Chris Hearn at our Pro Shop on 6493 4657.