Golf results

Narooma Men


A good field of 137 players enjoyed fine conditions which changed rapidly later in the day and the DSR emerged as a consistent 72.

In A Grade Matt Mahoney from Wollooware came out on top with 40 points off his handicap of 9, one better than Justin Bennett and two better than Rick Porter.

B Grade saw the best score of the day when the redoubtable Anton Galloway, generously assisted by the good fortune fairy, scored 43 points off his handicap of 18 to win by one point from Wayne Rollings and two from Hal Fraser.

In C Grade another visitor finished on top when Kevin Evans from Ryde-Parramatta scored 41 points off his handicap of 28 to win by one point from Norm Watson, while Garry Bennett filled third position with 38 points on countback from Greg Ryan and Gil Mott.

The nearest-the-pin winners were Ron Manly on 3, Mitchell Rugless from Woolooware on 9, Ray Gale on 14 and Greg Riley on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on 33 points.


Only 34 doughty players teed off for the second round of the Club Championships in wet and extremely windy conditions with a resultant DSR of 75/74.

The small field meant only one grade where Matthew Corbett finished on top with net 79 off his handicap of 6 on countback from Richard Bodell.

Neil Towers took third place with net 81. The nearest-the-pin winners were Matthew Corbett on 3 and 14, Richard Bodell on 17 and no one hit the green on 9.

The ball competition went down to an unprecedented 84 net.

And so to the results of the Championships: A Grade gross was won by Matthew Corbett with a total of 167, followed by Brett Thompson on 175. A Grade net was taken out by Neil Towers with 157 ahead of Terry O'Callaghan on 162.

Ken Brown won B Grade gross with 192 ahead of Les Campbell on 197 with Gary Ebbeling missing out on countback.

Mark Falconer won the net with 154, followed by Ron Manly on 165 ahead of the again luckless Gary Ebbeling.

Richard Bodell won C Grade gross with 206 ahead of Jason Davis on 221, while Alan Chisholm won the net with 160 ahead of Lindsay Madsen on 166.

Sophie Brown took out the Junior title with 189 and Richard Bodell won the Professional's Trophy with 152 net.

Narooma Ladies

Wednesday, May 9 was the final round of our 2018 Ladies Club Championships.  

The 2018 Narooma Ladies Club Champion is Sylvia Donohoe with a score of 320. Dorelle Monteith was Runner Up with 364. 

The Silver Salver Winner is Kay Lawrence with 371 and Division 1 Nett Winner is Tina Wilson with 302.

The Division 2 Winner is Maddie Robinson with 408 and Runner Up was Jan Boxsell with 410.  The Nett Winner is Ris Cheale with 308.

The Professionals Trophy was won by Jan Boxsell ocb with 151. 

The Yellow Course Winner is Maureen Casswell with 435 and Chris Hendra is the Nett Winner with 305. 

Results for Wednesday, May 9 on the Red Course were: Division 1 Winner was Dorelle Monteith with 72 Nett; and Division 2 Winner was Jan Boxsell with 71 Nett. 

On the Yellow Course, Chris Hendra was the Winner with 71 Nett.  

The Stableford Winner was Trish James with 34 points. 

The NTP Winners were: Meridie Banson on 3rd Hole for Div 1 and Margaret Bennett on 9th Hole for Div 2. Balls went to 78 Nett.

Please remember there is a Mixed 4BBB Stableford - Bill Borlaise Trophy competition – coming up on Sunday, May 20, so come along and join us.

Bookings from 11am. Visitors with a GolfLink Number and current GA are welcome. 

Bermagui Country Club

Results for Saturday, May 5

Correcting last week’s report.

Monthly Medal stroke event sponsored by Chris Hearn.

Our congratulations go to Max Luland on his May Medal win. Max achieved the top result playing off 36 handicap returning with a net score of 71.

A countback was needed to decide the A grade win which went to Jay Goodwin (hcp 5) and the runner-up was Owen Reid (hcp 11) both on 75. One shot back for 3rd in A grade was Matt Beckenham (hcp 14) with 76.

After a countback Kane Fowler (hcp 19) won B grade shading Sean Lingard (hcp 16) both with a score of 75.

C grade saw Arnold Watson (hcp 24) take the win on 76.

Lowest off the stick was Henry Loth with net 80.

Results for Thursday, May 10 - Bonus Bogey Par event.

The A grade winner today was Willow Lalao (hcp 11) returning with plus 3. Countback for runner up put Jake Needs (hcp 3) ahead of Paul Revill (hcp 11) both on plus 1.

In B grade Nick Stolk (hcp 17) emerged on top with plus 3 shading Bob Shearing (hcp 19) on plus 2 and Dave Cole (hcp 19) square with the card.

A countback to decide the win in C grade put Peter Bradley (hcp 33) ahead of Santiago Valle (hcp 27) both on plus 2. In 3 rd spot we had Mal LeComte (hcp 31) on plus 1.

Club News

 Sunday, May 20 will be a Dad’s Army Golden Ball competition for four-person teams with a barbecue to follow.

 Saturday, May 26 will be a four-man ambrose competition followed by the Men’s Golf AGM.

For competition bookings please phone Chris Hearn at our Pro Shop on 6493 4657.

Bermagui Ladies

Ladies played stableford on Saturday and the winner with 35 pts was Jo Buttrey.  Runner up Denise Flavell 31 pts.

The May medal winner was Fiona Hanks with 74 nett.  NTP  6th Sandy Chamberlin,  11th Kristine Hood,  15th Fran Vercoe.

Winner Elsbeth Cripps 76 nett.  Runner up Audrey Cook 78 nett.  Balls to Bev Tyson 78 nett, Kristine Hood 79 nett, Fran Vercoe 79 nett, Lynn Ponsford 79 nett Sandy Chamberlin 81 nett, Irene Putaansuu 82 nett, Jo Buttrey 83 nett and Annette Irvine 83 nett.

Tuross Head Men

The Tuross Head Country club men’s golf championships due to commence last Saturday had to be postponed due to consistent rain during the day.

The  competition will commence on the coming Saturday, May 19.

However the Thursday medley stableford competition was played with Ian Miller emerging as the winner with 40 stableford points.

He was followed by Ian McManus with 38 points with Ian edging out Allen Gannon on a countback.

Tony Russell filled the remaining voucher winning spot.

 Nearest the pins were won by:

Tony Russell on the 4th hole with 1.6 m.

Ray Bollard on the 6th with 0.90 m and

David Schmid on the 7th with 5.2

Bermagui Social Golfers

A cold windy morning could not dampen our spirits and we had a good turnout for our competition.

Winner Andrew Whittaker was one point in front of 2nd place Bill McKenzie and 3rd on a count back was Charlie Bennett. NTP on the 8th was Michael Brown.

Back at the Bermagui Hotel where we had lunch supplied by the publican we held our presentations with the badge draw going to Moz Wellington and Player draw was won by Michael Brown.

The encouragement award went to Mal LeComte. The Meat tray went to Russell Bragg and the Veggie Tray winner was won by a Patron in the Palm Room celebrating Mother's Day.

Taking the Pizza Voucher was John Mikola and the bottles of wine were won by Yvonne Bennett.

Players please note we will be starting at 10am during winter from this weekend.

Thanks again to our sponsors the Bermagui Beach Hotel, Bermagui Pizza, Triple 7, and Needs Butchery.

Golfers of any standard welcome each Sunday at 10am at the club.

Contact the club on 6493 4340 for further information or you can visit the website: