Golf results and news

Narooma Golf Club


A small field of 61 players braved the inclement conditions with a resultant two grades and a DSR of 72. A Grade was won by Glenn Mood with 36 points off his handicap of 11, followed by Rory Kleeman with 34 points and Ben Sealey who will be amazed to receive a placing with 27 points. B Grade was taken out by Bruce Day with 38 points off his handicap of 21. Gary Schmidt and Edgar Kastowsky filled the minor positions with 37 and 35 points respectively. The nearest-the-pin winners were John Hasler on 3, Doug Morey on 14 and Ian Harris on 17; the ninth green remained untouched. The ball competition went down to 30 points.


A field of 119 played stroke in the final medal round of the year and the final round of the President's Trophy where the DSR emerged as 71/72. In A Grade Jason Andrew emerged victorious with a par round off his handicap of 4, resulting in a net score of 68. One stroke further behind Michael Turner headed Jackson Taylor on countback to take second place. Richard Easton took out B Grade with 69 net off his handicap of 21 to head Dennis Fry by one stroke while Vince Harper edged out Nigel Roberts  on countback with 71 net to fill third place. In C Grade Ronda Walters triumphed with net 71 off a handicap of 32 to relegate Sid Dean to second place on countback, while Russell Naumann took third place on countback from Lindsay Madsen on 72 net. The nearest-the-pin winners were Rod Streater on 3, Jim Doel on 9, Jenny Wuttke-Hayes on 14 and Jason Andrew on 17, while the ball competition went to all on 75 net. 

Following the stroke round of the President's Trophy calculations confirmed Lindsay Madsen as the winner with 22 points ahead of Dennis Fry with 20 and Andrew Thompson with 14 points respectively. 

Narooma Ladies

On Wednesday, September 3 the Ladies played a Stroke/ Monthly Medal Competition. The Division 1 and Monthly Medal Winner was Dierdre Landells with 70 nett. Runner up was Tina Wilson with 72 nett. Division 2 was won by Lorraine McCarthy with 73 nett and runner up was Maddie Robinson with 74 nett. The putting competition was won by Marea Clarke with 30 putts and the DPP winner was Kitty Ryan. The NTP Winners were: Kitty Ryan on 3rd hole, Tina Wilson on 9th hole, Marea Clarke on 14th hole and Ann Durnan on 17th hole. Balls went to 76 nett. A Stableford Competition was also played  by some of our ladies. The winner was Ann Durnan with 37 points and Val Spooner was runner up with 35 points.

Bermagui Country Club

Results for Saturday, October 6 Monthly Medal stroke event sponsored by Jim’s Vending. Following a three-way countback our congratulations went to Javana Fereti on his October Medal win. Javana achieved the top result playing off 4 handicap returning with a net score of 72. The A grade countback went in favour of Mick Carr (hcp 13) for the win shading Bill McKenzie (hcp 15) both on 72. Luke Moresi (hcp 18) took time out from the Patisserie to win B grade with a score of 73, one shot clear of runner up Shane Grebert (hcp 16) who scored 74. A close finish in C grade with Michael Derbyshire (hcp 25) having the win with a score of 76 shading Noel Brady (hcp 32) on 77. Lowest off the stick today was Javana Fereti with net 76.

Club News: Saturday, October 13 will be 27 holes to decide the foursomes championship. Saturday, October 20 will be the hotly contested Captain’s versus President’s medley. The third and final round of the Narmorgui will be contested at Bermagui on Sunday, October 21. After 2 rounds (Moruya and Narooma) the progressive scores have Moruya leading with 82.71, then Bermagui on 81 and Narooma on 80.28. 

Tuross Head Country Club

Tuross Head Country Club monthly medal, played over three grades, resulted in some excellent scores. Mark Haberkorn won the A grade division with a net score of 68 strokes ahead of Ray Bollard 70 and Brad Doolan with 73 strokes. Ray Bollard also had the lowest off the stick score with a round of 78 strokes. John Phyland won the B grade division with a net score of 69 strokes, with Steven Swanbury 73 and Bruce Cleeve 74 filling the placings. C grade best was Peter Johnston with 69 net strokes ahead of Michael Elfer 70 and Derek Hoare 71 strokes. Colin Houghton won the Golden Shot on the 2nd hole with 3.88m. Nearest the pins were awarded to: A grade player Michael Nordsvan on the 4th hole with 3.01 m, Paul Ferguson won the 6th with 2.50 m and Brad Doolan the 7th with 1.00 m. B grade best was Trevor Jones on the 4th hole with 9.58. John Phyland was closest on the 6th with 0.45 m and Kevin Dukes was best on the 7th with 12.10 m. Bruce Brawn won the 4th hole with 4.25 m for the C grade section. Peter Johnstone was closest on the 6th with 3.68 m and Peter Dugan was awarded the 7th with 8.32m. The Thursday medley stableford competition saw veteran golfer Herb Muriwai score a hole in one on the fourth. The winner of the day's event was Ron Rogers with 42 points ahead of Brad Doolan 36, Trevor Jones 34 and Peter Dugan 33 points. Nearest the pins were won by Herb Muriwai on the 4th with his hole in one, Lachlan Nordsvan won the 6th and Ian McManus won the 7th.

Bermagui Ladies

Winner of the Saturday golf was Lesley Ashton with 32 pts. Monday morning 9 hole comp was won by Pat Minett with 23 pts.  Runner up Jo Buttrey 21 pts.  Balls to Norma Heddles 20 pts and Barb Harrop 18 pts. Wednesday stableford: NTP  8th Lynette Manton, 11th Lesley Ashton. Div. 1 winner was Lesley Ashton 34 pts and runner up Lynn Ponsford 34 pts.  Balls went to Pat Jones on 34 pts, Maggie Hayes on 33 pts and Elsbeth Cripps on 33 pts. Div. 2 winner was Wendy Chaplin 33 pts and runner up Norma Heddles 32 pts. Balls went to Terry Freemantle on 31 pts, Lynette Manton on 31 pts and Pat Minett on 31 pts.

Bermagui Dad’s Army

Welcome Visitor Tom Duffy; Mug of the month Peter Wilton; Winner B J; 2nd Rick Sheather; NTP HOLE  6th Robbo; Straightest Drive Bermi Pizza prize Billy B; Encouragement Award Peter Bradley; Lucky Badge Draw Brian Glass; Beer tickets Macca; Big Meat Tray Doug Blair. 

Moruya Senior Open

The third Southern Phone and Banksia Village Moruya Senior Open was held last weekend with a field of 86 players from clubs around NSW and Moruya. On Saturday the Ladies winner was Estelle Simmons with 33 points from Dawn Davies 32, Val Moore 31 c/b from Kym Batt. The Men’s Div 1 Saturday Gross winner was  Michael Flynn with 80 C/B with David Ison taking the Nett prize with 66. The Div 2 winner was T O’Connor with 90 c/b and Seamus Kelliher winning the Net with 67 c/b. Sunday’s results saw Di Smith win the Ladies with 37 points from Eileen Rodwell 36, Marie Muriwai 34 and fourth Judy Hebbard with 31. Men’s Div 1 Gross winner was Ray Carnall with 77 while the net went to Rodney Rodwell 67 c/b. In Div 2 the Gross winner was Rod Berry with 89 and Gil Arnold taking the Nett with 67. Overall results were as follows – Ladies Marilyn Bingham with 74 points from Dee Meek 71, Robyn Hawkins 68 and Barbra Kennedy 65. For the men the Div 1 Gross winner was Rick Monopoli with 159 and the Nett winner was Girts Kalnins with 132. In Div 2 the Gross was won by Peter Mylott with 177 while Steve Edwards took out the Nett with 135.

Catalina Veterans

Overcast skies and eventual rain did not deter 93 veteran golfers stepping out on Thursday, October 4 with the following results:

9 Hole Individual Stableford played on the Blue Course – A Grade Winners: 1st Peter Keatley (handicap 15) 21 Stableford points (ocb); 2nd Brian Marsden (18) 21 points; 3rd Bob Wilcox (17) 19 points. B Grade Winners: 1st Geoff Thornthwaite (handicap 21) 22 Stableford points; 2nd Peter Edwards (20) 20 points; 3rd Allan Dean (24) 19 points. C Grade Winners: 1st Terry Dixon (handicap 33) 18 Stableford points (ocb); 2nd Bill Forge (32) 18 points (ocb); 3rd Jim Lorimer (29) 18 points. Distribution of balls went to 16 points.