Devils trump Tigers to take home third Group 16 junior premiership

The Narooma Devils won their third premiership of 2019 thanks to a 30-16 win over the Batemans Bay Tigers in the Group 16 under 14s final at Mackay Park.

After wins in the under 12s and under 13s' league tag, the under 14s had a chance to win the Devils third-straight grand final.

Narooma was in first when Ethan Griffiths borrowed over from dummy half in the eighth minute of play. Byron Lonsdale-Patten nailed a sideline conversion for a 6-0 lead.

The Tigers muscled up in defence from that point, but couldn't muster any attacking threat with the ball.

Narooma eventually broke through for its second try five minutes from half time, as Noah Martin flew over Tigers' fullback Billy Pickett to extend the lead to 12.

Batemans Bay hit right back through Jayden Wolfe, who burst through the line 40 metres out and outpaced Lonsdale-Patten for a try in the left corner. Darnell Nye's conversion attempt was waved away for a 12-4 scoreline.

Tigers' halfback Sam Taylor gave his side a late chance with a 40/20, and he converted his own opportunity by stepping through the Devils' defensive line after the half-time siren. Darnell Nye's conversion left the Tigers just two points adrift at half time.

Narooma wrestled the momentum back in the second half, and Noah Martin extended its lead eight minutes into the half with a barnstorming run under the posts.

The Tigers started to look tired midway through the second half, and the Devils took the advantage through centre Bryce Hastie.

Hastie latched on to a kick from Byron Lonsdale-Patten, and beat Zethan Caple to the corner. Lonsdale-Patten converted the try for a 24-10 lead.

Batemans Bay kept fighting, and hit back with eight minutes to play through Jayden Wolfe. Wolfe climbed over Raymond Campbell off a kick, then muscled his way over the line to bring the Bay within eight.

The Tigers kept pressing, but couldn't find a way to crack Narooma's defensive line. The Devils scored the last try of the match in the final minute through Raymond Campbell for a 30-16 win.

Grand final teams


  • Byron Lonsdale-Patten
  • Raymond Campbell
  • Cohen Grieve-Law
  • Bryce Hastie
  • Chase Challis
  • Taj Shears
  • Jorge Constable
  • Amos Williams
  • Ethan Griffiths
  • Noah Martin
  • Blake Salway
  • Jackson Rapley
  • Kye Kelly
  • Raymond Parsons
  • Harry McLaren
  • Maximus Bourke
  • Samuel Patmore
  • Sonny Dudley
  • Travis Stubbs

Batemans Bay

  • Billy Pickett
  • Nathan McCallum
  • Darnell Nye
  • Jayden Wolfe
  • Zethan Caple
  • Kye Forrest
  • Sam Taylor
  • Jack Adams
  • Luke Whiteman
  • Sam Konstantakis
  • Luke Shooks
  • Jed Forrest
  • Matthew Cox
  • Zac Rumble
  • Tristan Pollard
  • Bowen Chapman
  • Oscar Lockhart
  • Corey Walker