Border changes

Time to head north - the Queensland border has opened to regional NSW. Picture: Shutterstock
Time to head north - the Queensland border has opened to regional NSW. Picture: Shutterstock

As Australia grapples with COVID-19 restrictions on our state borders, we tell you where you can and can't go. Border controls can change quickly - check before you book and be prepared to do the paperwork. Here's a state-by-state guide for travellers.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria remains shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state but are advised against travelling to NSW Health declared hotspots. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but book your accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camp grounds are open, as are museums and galleries. The rule of one person per four square metres applies to indoor dining and group bookings for up to 30 people are now allowed.


Queensland announced on Friday it would reopen its borders to regional NSW from November 3. Greater Sydney residents are still restricted from entering the northern state.

Visitors from outside Sydney can travel through the capital's airport, without stopping in the greater metropolitan area.

The Queensland border has been closed to anyone who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the past 14 days. Residents in the northern NSW border zone may freely enter Queensland.


Borders are open for all states and territories, except Victoria. Greater Sydney was removed from the NT's list of coronavirus hotspots last week.


South Australia has reopened its borders to ACT and NSW residents. Visitors from Victoria remain banned. Travellers from other states may enter without restrictions but all need a Cross Border Travel Registration.


Tasmania eased border restrictions for travellers from Queensland, the ACT, SA, WA and the NT from October 26. NSW may be included from November 2, depending on case numbers. Visitors from Victoria have to quarantine for 14 days in a government-designated accommodation at their own expense.


Travel restrictions are being eased. Intrastate travel between Melbourne and regional Victoria will be allowed from November 9 and the 25-kilometre limit on travel for Melburnians will also be axed. Retail, cafes, bars and restaurants have reopened. Travel from other states to Victoria is still not advised. Face masks are compulsory throughout Victoria when outside the home.


Western Australia will reopen its borders to all states and territories from November 14.

Those in NSW and Victoria will still face some restrictions - anyone who has recently been in either state will have to self-quaratine. Arrivals from all other states and territories won't have to quarantine but will be subject to health screening, temperature checks and declarations of any recent travel.

but some restrictions will remain for people from NSW and Victoria.

While you're here... might also enjoy