Australian state border changes outline, November 20

The lowdown on border changes this week

A coronavirus outbreak in South Australia forced a number of states to shut their borders this week. All states except NSW have closed their borders to residents of South Australia. Border controls can change quickly so plan to be flexible and be prepared to do extra paperwork to enter each state.

NSW and the ACT are set to reopen to travellers from Victoria on Monday, November 23. The borders are currently open to all other domestic travellers without restriction. NSW residents are advised to avoid non-essential travel to SA.

South Australia residents are currently in a six-day lockdown. They are unable to leave their homes. Borders of all states except NSW are closed to SA residents until further notice.

The Victorian border is open except to South Australians, but travel from other states is still not advised.

Queensland closed its borders this week to anyone from South Australia. All of Victoria and 32 Greater Sydney council areas remain on the COVID-19 hotspot list. Queensland is welcoming holidaymakers from regional areas of NSW, as well as other states and territories.

WA's border reopened this week to low-risk areas (i.e. with no community transmission for 28 days). This currently includes Tasmania, Queensland, the ACT and the NT. If you are coming from NSW or Victoria you will need to self-quarantine for 14 days. Visitors from SA are not permitted to enter.

The Northern Territory closed its border to SA this week but is open to all other states and territories, except Victoria.

Tasmania has closed its border to travellers from South Australia. Visitors from Victoria must quarantine for 14 days, either in suitable premises or in government-designated accommodation. They are also advised to apply for a G2G PASS prior to entry. The border is expected to reopen to Victorians on November 27.

While you're here... might also enjoy