Tom Engelbrecht named in NSW Country squad

Tom Engelbrecht in action for Western District-UC. Photo: Jay Cronan
Tom Engelbrecht in action for Western District-UC. Photo: Jay Cronan

Tuross Head product Tom Engelbrecht and NSW Indigenous captain Nathan Price headline the NSW Country squad, that will play in next year’s Toyota Australian Country Cricket Championships.

Price is part of a 14-man squad which will represent the Bush Blues in Geraldton, Western Australia, from the 5 to 13 January.

He is one of four players from Newcastle, which beat Central Coast in the McDonald’s NSW Country Champions final played at Bowral’s Bradman Oval last Sunday.

There are also three Central Coast players in the squad along with three from ACT Southern, and one from Western Zone, Riverina, North Coast and Central Northern.

The squad includes two former NSW Blues players, Newcastle fast bowler Burt Cockley and Central Coast all-rounder Simon Keen.

The Bush Blues are the defending 50-over champions but were beaten by Queensland for the overall title when the Twenty20 component of the tournament was added.

It was the first time that Twenty20 cricket had been played in the Toyota Australian Country Cricket Championships.

NSW Country claimed back to back titles in 2011/12 and 2012/13.

NSW Country squad: Nathan Price © (Newcastle), Scott Burkinshaw (Central Coast), Burt Cockley (Newcastle), Tom Engelbrecht (ACT Southern), Ryan Fenning (Central Coast), Simon Keen (Central Coast), Nick Foster (Newcastle), Tom Groth (Central Northern), Ben Mitchell (ACT Southern), Jordan Moran (Western), Jonathan Nicoll (Riverina), Joe Price (Newcastle), Cameron Suidgeest (ACT Southern) and Caleb Ziebell (North Coastal), with Jeff Cook (Central Northern) as coach.