Golf notes August 13


Narooma Men

THURSDAY, AUGUST 8: Somewhat windy conditions greeted the field of 125 players where the DSR emerged as 72/73. A Grade was taken out by Matt George with 39 points off a handicap of 12 on countback from Neil Towers. Andrew Vormeulen filled the third position with 38 points on countback from Reece Woods from Moss Vale. In B Grade Ian Miller finished on top with 39 points off a handicap of 15, followed by three players on 37 points with John Willett and Jim Hoar enjoying the spoils and Noel Fisher missing out. In C Grade Ian Gregs registered the best score of the day in 40 points off his handicap of 35, one point better than Peter Kape who edged out Peter Jones on countback to take second place. The nearest-the-pin winners were Geoff Lanham on 3, Scott Ker on 9, Robert Sayers with a hole-in-one on 14 and Mark Anderson on 17, while the ball competition went down to all on 32 points.

SATURDAY, AUGUST 10: A field of 138 players teed off on the first day of the Seahorse Ambrose where the gross was won by Mark Anderson and Ben Sealey from Narooma and Michael Coulter from Tura Beach with a score of 61. The best round in the net was recorded by the Narooma trio of Phil Haynes, Domin Connaughton and Vicky Connaughton with a score of 56 1/2, followed by Brendan Warby and Tim Sykes from Narooma teamed with Reece Woods from Moss Vale on 56 5/6. The Links Shell Cove team of Jason Stoker, Glen Gibson and Graham Stewart finished third on 58 net. The nearest-the-pin winners were Elliott Wain from Catalina on 3, Rustin Emery from Gold Creek on 9, Robert Ackling on 14 and Ken Brown from Moruya on 17.

SUNDAY, AUGUST 11: The gross winners on the second day were Scott Ker from Narooma, Josh Campbell from Murrumbidgee and Ross McLoughlin from Gungahlin Lakes with a 12 under par score of 60. The net winners were Terry Jack and Jay Goodwin from Bermagui teamed with Narooma's Jackson Taylor with a score of 55 5/6 followed by the Narooma team of Blake Thornhill, Matt Corbett and William Monteith on 57 1/3. Third place was taken out by the Catalina team of Elliott Wain, Robert Mackay and David Clout on 58 1/2. The nearest-the-pin winners were Ross McLoughlin on 3, Brendan Warby on 9, William Willoughby from Queanbeyan on 14 and Reece Woods from Moss Vale on 17. The overall gross score was won by Mark Anderson, Ben Sealey and Michael Coulter with 123 off the stick. The net winners on countback were Terry Jack, Jackson Taylor and Jay Goodwin with 118 2/3 ahead of Blake Thornhill, Matt Corbett and William Monteith. Third placed on 120 was the Moruya team of Stephen Heffernan, Jeff Afflick and Roland Hall on countback.

Following last week's final stroke round for the John Cobcroft Memorial Stroke competition, the winner was declared in Clive Williamson who headed Mitch Jeffery on countback with a score of 220. In third place was Graham Sawyer on 223.

Narooma Ladies

On Monday 5th August, 21 ladies played a fun Stableford Competition - Death by Chocolate, where we were supplied with mixed bags of chocolates for the round and all prizes awarded at the end of the day were chocolate! The Winner of Division 1 was Jenny Walker (25) with 34 points ocb and Maureen Casswell(31) was the Division 2 Winner with 37 points ocb. The NTP Winners were Lynne McDonald on 3rd Hole and Bec Smart on 17th Hole. Balls went to 29 ocb.

On Wednesday 7th August, a field of 31 ladies played a Stableford Competition. The Division 1 Winner was Shirl Webber (21) with 38 points and Runner Up was Chris Matthews (25) with 35 points ocb. Val Spooner (40) was the Division 2 Winner with 36 points ocb from Runner Up Marlene Hunt. The NTP Winners were Chris Matthews on 3rd Hole, Trish Bennett on 9th Hole and Shirl Webber on 17th Hole. Balls went to 32 points.

Bermagui Men

Thursday 8th August - Stableford. A countback decided the A grade winner today went to Anthony Hart (hcp 6) shading runner up Bob Paine (hcp 10) both on 38 points. Next was Robert Drew (hcp 11) on 35 points. A countback again for the B grade win to go to Gerald Wright (hcp 21) edging Roy Matthews (hcp 16) both scoring 37 points. David Tosch (hcp 20) was next on 36 points. Charles Bennett (hcp 25) won C grade with a best of the day 40 points then followed Darryl O'Reilly (hcp 23) on 38 points just shading Michael Murray (hcp 27) on 37.

Saturday 10th August - Monthly Medal stroke event sponsored by the Bermagui Village Store. Our congratulations go to Rickard Sheather on his August Medal win. Rickard achieved the top result playing off 21 handicap returning with a net score of 68. The A grade win went to Glenn Thomson (hcp 13) with net 73 shading Robert Drew (hcp 11) on 75. Luke Moresi (hcp 16) performed well in the windy conditions to win B grade with a score of 71. Runner up was Jim Manton (hcp 19) scoring 78 net. A close finish in C grade with a countback deciding the win to Santiago Valle (hcp 27) shading Brendan Matters (hcp 24) both on net 75. Lowest off the stick today was Wayne Buick with net 82.

Club News: The next round of the Narmorgui will be held at Narooma Golf Club on Sunday 25th August. Bookings are now open for Bermagui's Week of Golf which starts on the 14th September (Ladies Open) and concludes 21st/ 22nd September (Men's Open). For competition bookings please phone Chris Hearn at our Pro Shop on 6493 4657.

Bermagui Men's Golf: Saturday Medal day, from left, Chris Hearn (Bermagui Pro) with Medal Winner Rickard Sheather, Jim Manton (B grade R/U) and Santiago Valle (C grade winner).

Bermagui Men's Golf: Saturday Medal day, from left, Chris Hearn (Bermagui Pro) with Medal Winner Rickard Sheather, Jim Manton (B grade R/U) and Santiago Valle (C grade winner).

Bermagui Ladies

The Bermagui Ladies played their August Monthly Medal which was won by Brenda Whiffen hcp 24 Nett 80 who has just returned from 6 weeks travelling around Canada, Alaska and parts of the USA. The daily competition was won by Kristine Hood hcp 44 Nett 79, Runner up Norma Heddles hcp 40 Nett 80. Balls to Maggie Hayes hcp 6 Nett 81 Val Schilling hcp 33 Nett 81 Denise Flavell hcp 24 Nett 82. Least amount of putts Lesley Ashton with 29 putts. NTP's 6th M Hayes 8th D Flavell 15th 2nd shot I Putaansuu.

On Saturday the Stableford event was won by Amanda Schmidt with 39 points - her personal best score here and on a very cold and windy day! NTP 11th P Jones.

Bermagui Ladies Golf: Captain Fiona Hanks, winner Brenda Whiffen, Medal sponsor Trady Howarth.

Bermagui Ladies Golf: Captain Fiona Hanks, winner Brenda Whiffen, Medal sponsor Trady Howarth.

Bermagui Dads Army

August 4: Welcome to Visitors Danny Mihaildis and Steve Katrakilis. Mug of the Month Peti. Winner. Ziggy. 2nd Brian Kenyon. 3rd John Jessop. NTP Hole 6 th John Jessop. NTP Hole 8 Craig Bishop. Straightest Drive Bermi Pizza Prize BJ. Encouragement Award Barry Benny. Hacker Of the Day Ken Vanepen. Lucky Badge Draw Andy Hamilton-Smith. Beer tickets Barry Benny. Big Benny's meat tray L O'Connell. Next week 2 person aggregate and sausage sizzle.