Devils score five tries in wicked under 12s grand-final win over Bega

The Narooma Devils completed an undefeated season in the Group 16 under 12s with a 24-point win over the Bega Roosters at Mackay Park.

Narooma's Daniel Betts opened the scoring in the third minute with a dart up the heart of the Roosters defence. Samuel Patmore converted for an early 6-0 lead.

Betts stepped through the Roosters defence again six minutes later to bring up his double, which Riley Dawson converted to give Narooma a 12-point lead.

Narooma was very nearly in again five minutes later through Reuben Booth, but fantastic scramble defence stopped an almost certain try.

Bega finally enjoyed some sustained pressure on the Devils' line at the end of the half, but Narooma's defence did enough to ensure a 12-0 lead at half time.

The Devils raced out of the blocks in the second, as Betts completed his hat-trick with a decisive run down the left flank. Travis Stubbs nailed the conversion to open an 18-0 lead.

Bega gave themselves a fighting chance with 10 minutes remaining as Kaelan Luff barrelled over two tackles to score in the left corner. Louis Willington converted to make the score 18-6.

However, Samuel Patmore made sure of the result five minutes from time with a fantastic solo effort up the middle. Zac Van Weerdenburg converted for a 24-6 scoreline.

Daniel Betts put the cherry on top of a great performance with his fourth try in the last minute to seal a 30-6 win.

Grand final teams


  • Travis Stubbs
  • Jordyn Holzhauser
  • Sonny Dudley
  • Johnny Constable
  • Ricky Rixon-Gosch
  • Reuben Booth
  • Luke Barry
  • Riley Dawson
  • Daniel Betts
  • Joey Cowley
  • Cooper Matters
  • Dhardyan Hill
  • Samuel Patmore
  • Hunter McDonald
  • Zac Van Weerdenburg
  • Colt-James Croser
  • Drew Arentz
  • Billy McLaren
  • Riley Almond
  • Clayton Bailey
  • Jordan Forbes


  • Corey Thomas
  • Joshua Allman
  • Kaelan Luff
  • Aedan Reeve
  • Ryan keevers
  • Braedy Armstrong
  • Louis Willington
  • Deklan Ferguson
  • Mitchell Roxburgh
  • Anton Pittman
  • Jake Smith
  • Brodie Irvin
  • Lachlan Marks
  • Blake Fuller
  • Riley Balcomb
  • Gypsy Rose Chinnock