Victoria closes NSW border as states tighten travel restrictions

Victoria hardens NSW border as states tighten travel restrictions

States have tightened travel restrictions in the wake of the Northern Beaches coronavirus outbreak, with the Victorian premier slamming the door on Sydney on Sunday.

Daniel Andrews announced the red zone, where people will not be permitted into Victoria, has extended to cover the whole of Sydney and the Central Coast.

"If you are from greater Sydney, don't try and come to Melbourne or any part of Victoria and equally if you are Victorian don't go to Sydney, " Mr Andrews said on Sunday.

Arrivals from Sydney and the Central Coast from midnight Sunday are required to go into 14-day quarantine.

Returning Victorians have another 24 hours to get home, however they will need to go into home quarantine and get tested within 24 hours. Those who arrive after midnight on Monday will have to enter hotel quarantine.

Anyone travelling from NSW into the southern state is required to have a valid permit, regardless of where they live, and will be asked to monitor for symptoms.

A new permit system will be introduced, with previous permits now void, and a hard border will be in place on the roads.

Queensland has has also toughened its stance on NSW, with anyone entering the sunshine state after 1am Sunday required to apply for and receive a border declaration pass.

Queenslanders returning home from a hotspot - which includes the Northern Beaches local government area - must enter government-arranged accommodation and quarantine for 14 days at their own expense.

People who have been in a hotspot in the last 14 days will only be able to enter the state if they are a Queenslander returning home, or qualify under a limited range of essential reasons such as study, essential health care or attending court.

As of 12.01am Sunday, Western Australia has designated NSW as "medium risk" and travel from the state has been banned, with all arrivals required to self-quarantine for 14 days and be tested for COVID-19 on the 11th day.

Anyone in WA who has been in NSW since December 11 and hasn't completed 14 days in a lower-risk state or territory must also self-quarantine.

Exemptions are limited to certain senior government officials, some active military personnel, federal MPs, those in the transport freight or logistics industry and anyone given approval by the state emergency co-ordinator or an authorised officer.

Arrivals from the Greater Sydney region to Tasmania will be required to quarantine for 14 days, premier Peter Gutwein announced on Saturday, with the change coming into effect over the weekend.

Greater Sydney is now classified as medium risk, with the northern beaches high risk.

Tasmanians and visitors to the statewho have been in the NSW Northern Beaches local government area at any time on or after December 11 are required to self-isolate and contact the Public Health Hotline on 1800 671 738.

Travellers will be able to transit through Sydney Airport on their way to Tasmania without having to quarantine, provided they don't leave the airport precinct.

All arrivals to the Northern Territory are required to fill in a border entry form and anyone who has been in a declared hotspot in the 14 days prior to arriving must enter mandatory quarantine at their expense.

While you're here... might also enjoy