Eurobodalla councillors: How the votes fell

How the votes fell in the race for eight councillors to sit on Eurobodalla Shire Council for the next four years:

Mayor Liz Innes’ Community Action Alliance ticket secured 5,240 votes, or 24.86 per cent, which was enough to put her second and third running mates on the ticket, respectively Jack Tait and Maureen Nathan, into the chamber.

Under the NSW Electoral Commission formula, some votes from the successful mayoral candidate are transferred to the next in line on the councillor ticket. 

The second Alliance ticket secured 576 votes, or 2.76 per cent, which was not enough to put ticket leader Michael Johnson, of Tuross Head in the mix.

Batehaven businessman Milton Leslight led the third Alliance ticket, but failed in his bid to be returned. The ticket, with his son, Todd, secured 252 votes, or 1.18 per cent.

The ticket of former mayor, Lindsay Brown, secured the second highest number of votes, with 3,310, or 16.16 per cent, enough to return Cr Brown.

The A Chance for Change team scored 2,562, or 12.28 per cent of formal votes, putting Narooma businessman Phil Constable into the chamber.

The Community Voice Eurobodalla team received a total of 1,934 votes, or 9.34 per cent, putting one member into the council: Anthony Mayne.

The group’s second ticket secured 529 votes, or 2.49 per cent; not enough to secure a seat for ticket leader Coral Anderson.

The group’s third ticket secured 723 votes, or 3.40 per cent; not enough to elect ticket leader Peter Cormick.

Councillor Rob Pollock was returned. His ticket did not secure quota, but the final count was 1,787 votes, or 8.81 per cent.

The Greens’ ticket did not reach quota, but its 1,477 votes, or 7.12 per cent, was enough to put Patrick McGinlay into the chamber. He replaces Gabi Harding, the first Green to be elected to the shire council, who did not run again.

The unaligned ticket of farmer James Thomson also did not reach quota, but its 1,183 or 5.44 per cent was enough to see the son of former mayor, the late Fergus Thomson, elected.

The A Better Way for Batemans Bay team secured 924 votes, or 4.48 per cent, not enough for leader Robbie Law.

Running for the first time, without the backing of a group ticket was Country Labor candidate Maureen Searson, who claimed 349 votes, or 1.68 per cent, not enough to secure election.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide